I finally got my hands on a copy of this book and I was so excited to finally read it. I loved Mira Grant’s other series (which I still have to get a physical copy of) and it looks like I will love this series too!

blackbird

13641105

Title: Parasite
Author: Mira Grant
Date published: August 23rd 2016
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 354
My Rating
55663-five-stars

A decade in the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease.

We owe our good health to a humble parasite – a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. When implanted, the tapeworm protects us from illness, boosts our immune system – even secretes designer drugs. It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams. Now, years on, almost every human being has a SymboGen tapeworm living within them.

But these parasites are getting restless. They want their own lives…and will do anything to get them.

blackbird-1

I loved everything about this book! ‘Parasite’ is set 10 years into the future, where medical technology has progressed to the point where a tapeworm has been designed that helps fight disease-no more taking medication, chronic illnesses or allergies. The story follows Sally, who now goes by Sal, as she finds out the dark truth behind this medical marvel. The thing is, Sal was in a car accident 6 years ago and was medically brain dead-until she miraculously woke up, with no recollection of her past, or how to read, walk or socially interact with people-and this recovery was attributed to her Intestinal Bodyguard. This makes her subject to the whims of SymboGen, the creators of the parasite, as they work to uncover more information about what their creation can do and what that means to the public. But as some strange things start to happen around the world to people that have one of these parasites, and a mysterious scientists contacts Sal and Nathan promising some answers to their questions, they start to find out the dark secrets SybmoGen are hiding and the potential of the parasite to take over their hosts.

Things I Like

  • Can I Say Everything?-Like I mentioned before, I loved everything about this book. I probably have to got into a little more detail though, as this is a book review and it has to sound a little fancier then this.
  • The Characters-Sal and Nathan are such interesting characters and I adore their relationship. Sal is very strong, independent and though she knows she struggles to do somethings, like read or understand common slang after her accident, she remains confident in herself and holds true to her new identity, even when people are trying to make her like ‘Sally.’
  • The Science and the ‘Parasite’-One of the things I love about Mira Grant is how believable and complex the science is in her books. We get so much background information into the Intensional Bodyguard. Detailed snippets about other parasites, genetics like toxoplasmosis and some medical procedures thrown in as we see Sally get her routine tests. As the book goes on, all of these technical pieces come together to make us feel unsettled as we come to truly understand what the parasite is and what it can do.
  • The Story- While I had a sneaking suspicion to the truth behind the tapeworm and what really happened to Sal, the build up to the revelation was written really well. I found I was not bored at all throughout the book and everything flowed and fit together believably. The ending was thrilling and I was on the edge of my set/bed, hoping that Sal would be able to get through and waiting for the plot twist I was hoping to happen.
  • The Background Information-Throughout the story there were little interludes that gave insight into the background behind SymboGen and the Intestinal Bodyguard. We get clippings from an interview of the creator, Dr Banks and excerpts from the autobiography of another of the co-founders Dr Shanti Cale. These two left on bad terms, and it was so interesting to read the conflicting reports about the creation of the tapeworm, the roles of each of the three co-founders and the safety behind this so called ‘medical breakthrough.’

Things I Did Not Like

  • Nothing?- It feels a little weird to say there was nothing I did not like in this book, but I could not think of anything major I had a problem with in this book. At times the book moved a little slow and the pacing of the story could have been a little faster, but I enjoyed the book so much this was not an issue to me as all of the little details that were meticulously written came together to make such an amazing story.

I really loved this book and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction and books with science and medical themes! Her other series is very well written and a little under-appreciated too!

Let me know what I should read next!

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

6 thoughts on “Parasite-The Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

