I am so happy I finally decided to finish this amazing series. I had been putting it off for a while, but once I started this final book I could not put it down. This is hands down one of my favourite books I have read this year.

blackbird

18966806

Title: Morning Star
Author: Pierce Brown
Date published: February 9th 2016
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 516
My Rating:  55663-five-stars

Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.

Finally, the time has come.

But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied—and too glorious to surrender.

blackbird-1

This was such an amazing conclusion to one of the best Science Fiction series I have ever read. Piece Brown certainly knows how to craft a story, filled with ups and downs and a fantastically built world. I am so excited to read the next series he is writing, ‘Iron Gold’.

Firstly I must comment on the plot of this book. It took me a little while to get back into the story as it had a been a long time since I had read ‘Golden Son’, but once I reminded myself who each of the characters are and what had transpired at the end of the previous book I was transported back into the world of Darrow and the Sons of Ares. The book is separated into distinct parts, following not only the progress of the war but also Darrow’s rebirth and development into the strong character and brutal warrior he is by the end of the book. We see him recover from his treatment at the hands of the Jackal, rebuild his relationship with his friends, and step into the role of the Reaper once more to lead the Rising. Pierce Brown always writes thrilling space battle and combat scenes, and there are no shortage of those in this book. The ending blew me away! I thought I had an idea of what the plan was, but every time something happened it turned everything on its head and I had to rethink my theory of what was going to happen. The plot twists, the betrayal, the deaths- everything was absolutely perfect throughout this book.

I don’t know what is my favourite part of the book-the story or the characters, as both of them are so interesting and well executed. Darrow is an incredible main character, and we get to see his true character in this book. Gone is the Gold persona he had in he first book and the brutal Reaper persona he had in the second book. In ‘Morning Star’, Darrow is a combination of the two. He has to maintain his Gold brutality to be a fearsome leader and command the respect of the colours in his Rising, but also maintain the empathy, mercy and sense of loyalty from his Red upbringing. We see Darrow grow throughout the book, shaped by those around him. While I do like Darrow, Sevro has to be my favourite character of the book, and he grows just as much as Darrow does. We see him broken by Darrows disappearance and try to fulfill the role of Ares after both Darrow and his father are taken away from him. Once the reconcile, we see the return of the old Sevro- a little bit crazy but brilliant. He has some of the best lines in the book and is so essential to not only Darrow’s growth, but the success of the Rising. Mustang, Victra and Ragnar all grow into unique and equally important characters and the villains of the book (the Jackal and the Sovereign predominantly) are dynamic and interesting.

This is such a fantastic conclusion to an incredible Science Fiction series. I had been putting off reading this book for a while as I did not want this series to end and if it had ended disappointingly it would have been such a let down. Thank you Pierce Brown for writing such an amazing third book and for the character that is Sevro.


If you have not yet read this series, please do! It is the perfect example of a modern Science Fiction story with a wonderfully written story, setting and characters.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

2 thoughts on “Morning Star-The Bookshelf

  1. AAAH This was my favourite in this series!! I think the best part in the whole series is when Sevro does the whole “what do we do to murderers?” part. But just the last 40% or so is sooooo gooood

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could not put it down until I had finished it! I knew something was up with the whole Cassius and Sevro incident, but I am so happy how it played out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

