Check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads group!

It is Wednesday again and that means it is time for another T5W! This weeks topic is ‘children’s books.’ This can also include middle grade, which is what I am going to focus on for my list this week. I loved reading when I was a kid and I remember there were some books I would get out of the library multiple times each school term. So here are some of my most loved childhood books.

hear-vine-divider1

3100159

1 . Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda- I love love love this series and they have a special place on my bookshelf. I have all of the copies and I remember reading them multiple times each, sometimes at least once a week when I was 11 or 12. One of my copies is pretty well loved and slightly damaged from an orange juice bottle spilling in my schoolbag one day.

 

249747

2. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer- Another one of my most beloved childhood series. I only have a personal copy of the first book, but i remember getting each of the books out multiple times from the school library. I used to have a huge crush on Artemis and used to daydream about him during class.

 

 

molly_moon_hypnotism

3. Molly Moons Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng- I also used to daydream about being able to hypnotise people (is that normal for a 10 year old kid?) I related so much with Molly and loved following her on her incredible journey throughout the series. I don’t think I could ever watch the movie as this is one of my most beloved childhood books.

 

 

78411

4. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket- Lets just say I used to pretty much own the school library copies of these books. I think I always had one of the books and would rotate through them every time it was library class at school. I keep meaning to reread them and watch the Netflix series, but I have still not gotten around to it.

 

206204575. Any of the books written by Andy Griffiths- These were my guilty pleasure books back when I was young. I don’t know whether Andy Griffiths is big everywhere else in the world, but if you went to school in Australia you probably would have heard of or read ‘Just Stupid’, ‘Just Crazy’ , ‘Just Shocking’ or ‘The Day My Butt Went Psycho ‘.  I think younger Caitlin needed a break from all the feelings she was having after reading Eragon and Harry Potter and wanted to read something way more light hearted.

hear-vine-divider1

I hope you liked my list this week and saw some of the books of your childhood. You are probably wondering why Harry Potter or Percy Jackson is not included in this list…well the prompt specially said not to include them and it is always great to give some of the other childhood classics some love (and some of these books I would have read at least 20 times during primary school.)

Let me know what some of your favourite childhood books are and share with me your T5W for this week!

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- My Childhood Books

    1. They were so silly and stupid but I would reread them so many times as they were so easy to read! I am glad someone else remembers them as whenever I bring these books up to my friends they have never heard of them. I swear we had to read it as part of an assignment in primary school too.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They were one of my favourite series and I still have all of mu old copies. I think the first series is the best, but I also liked the last one too…I am indifferent about the second series…

      Like

Leave a Reply

