Check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads group!

This weeks Top 5 Wednesday is such a hard one-books without romance! I am not a romance book person, but in pretty much most fantasy, science fiction and thriller book there is always a romance plot or subplot. Sometimes they add something special to the book, and sometimes I am left wondering why it was even included. So, here are some books that don’t have romance in them.

hear-vine-divider1

288771 . Red Dragon by Thomas Harris – AKA, one of my favourite books of all time! Red Dragon is such a great book and I have read it multiple times. Both Hannibal and Will are such interesting characters and there is no romance in it.

 

 

144773

2. Contest by Matthew Reilly- This was the first Matthew Reilly book I read and I loved it instantly. I don’t remember any romance plot in this book as it focuses on the main character and his daughter trying to survival an alien ‘hunger games’. I highly recommend this book.

 

 


59073. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien-
Is there romance in ‘The Hobbit’? I cannot remember any unless you count Golem and The Ring? Anyways, even if there is it was definitely not a major part of the book.

 

 

59267

4. The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud- I had this book sitting on my shelf for a while after I bought it at a second hand book sale and reread it earlier this year. No romance plot in this book…but that is probably due to the fact that the main character is like 10.

 

 

molly_moon_hypnotism5. Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng- This was one of my favourite books as a kid and it has no romance in it! It was simple the story of an orphan called Molly who finds a book on hypnotism which changes her life forever.

 

 

hear-vine-divider1

I hope you liked my list this week! As always, please share with me your lists and give me your recommendations!

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books Without Romance

    1. Thanks! It annoyed me too that they added in a romance subplot when it really was not needed, just focus on the story line and let all of the characters be independent and develop in their own way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

