Did everyone have a good reading month? I know during the middle months of the year I normally slow down and get into a little but of a slump, but I actually had a good month in June. While I did not read a whole lot of books, I reads some of the bigger books on my TBR and got addicted to a new series.

Lets get into my June 2017 book wrap up! I ended up reading 9 books.

Arrow_divider

33986934Dead of Night by Michael Grant 

I really love this series and I knew I had to get a copy of this Novella that was released earlier in the year. It was a very small book and different to both Front Lines and Silver Stars, but I liked the addition to the series.

 


23403402A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab. 

I had heard so much about this series and finally read the first book. While I did enjoy it, it was no as great as I was expecting and I was not a huge fan of the main character Kell. I am going to read the next book in the series in the next few weeks, so I am hoping it gets a little better. You can read my review here. 


22910900The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I really liked the concept of this book, but I felt the characters and the story was not what I was expecting. It was a good book, but I just wished it was a little something more. You can read my review here.

 


29559052Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

I finally read this book and it was completley and utterly devastating! I loved this book and I have fallen in love with this series again. From start to end it was exciting with some major plot twists, and both Aelin and Rowan are great characters. Maas also writes such interesting side characters too! My review is here. 


14061957Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

I was not the biggest fan of the second book in the series, but the conclusion to the Shadow and Bone series did not let me down. I really enjoyed this book, even though I am not the biggest fan of the main character, and the payoff from all of the build up in the first two books was really satisfying. My review is coming soon!


9780755322817-uk-300American Gods by Neil Gaiman

This was my first Gaiman book and it was so amazing. His writing style is perfectly suited to this story and I was so intrigued by all of the characters, both main and minor. I had no idea where the story was going as I progressed through the book and the ending suited the story. I am really looking forward to reading his other books. My review is coming soon!


9329354The Way of Kings Parts 1 and 2 by Brandon Sanderson

I am addicted to this book series and have just picked up book two. This is a wonderfully written High Fantasy book that just grips you from the very first page. All of the characters are so interesting and I was not bored in any of their stories as we switch from character to character every chapter. Kaladin is my favourite though…I am writing my review tonight and it will be posted tomorrow!


32608639November Fox #1 by E.E Bertram

I got this book of Netgalley and I did not really know what to expect when I started reading. It is a really unique book and tells a weird but interesting story, with little messages scattered throughout. The writing style and character development let the story down though. My review is here.


Arrow_divider

I am pretty happy with how many books I got through this month, and I am so happy I discovered the work of Brandon Sanderson as I am in love with his Stormlight Archives series. I am looking forward to starting Mistborn once I finish Stormlight Book Two.

Let me know what you read this month, and as always, give me some recommendations!

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

One thought on “June 2017 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

