Welcome to another edition of ‘Book Thoughts’-little mini reviews of books that I have decided not to write a complete review about for various reasons. I decided to only write a mini review of ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J Maas as I actually have not reviewed any of the other ‘Throne of Glass’ books and I felt it would be a little incomplete to only review this book and not the others-maybe one day I will go back to reread them and write some reviews.

Arrow_divider29559052

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

I have to admit, I fell away from this series and got caught up in the heart break that is ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses.’ I had this book sitting on my bookshelf for weeks and after finishing ‘A Court of Wings and Ruin’ I decided I had to just sit down and pick up this book. And I am so happy I did, apart from the fact I have so many emotions after finishing the final page.

While I really love this series, the last two books of the series were a little flat and not as exciting. However, it was totally worth it as these two books set up the story to explode in ‘Empire of Storms’. Throughout this book I was on the edge of my seat and hoping that all of the characters I had grown to love will make it out alive. Aelin is still cunning and devastatingly dangerous and beautiful, and the growing of her relationship with Rowan in this book was just perfect-they might be rivaling Rhysand and Feyre. Their banter and the complete devotion to each other just hurts my heart and as I kept reading I knew something bad would happen and I had to prepare myself for that. All of the other characters in the book are perfect (Sarah writes some of the best side characters). From Aedion and Lysandra, to Dorian and his fiery interactions with Manon, and the inclusion of the other members of Rowan’s (old?) Cadre to their Court.  I also enjoyed the small plot arc involving Elide and Lorcan and I really hope we see more of these two in the future books.

All of the pieces set up in the first few books now come together and I was so thrown by all the revelations! All of the little seeds planted now make sense and the ending was just so amazing and very bittersweet (if you have read the book you would know why I say that.) Lots of issues are resolved and some people get a happy ending, but it would not be a Sarah J Maas book if there was no cliffhanger.

I am so excited for the next book in the series, but we have to wait until next year! While a Chaol novella will be interesting, I just need the next book in the series as I need to know what happens to Aelin!

Arrow_divider

Let me know if you have read Empire of Storms, and as always don’t hesitate to give me some book recommendations,

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

Leave a Reply

