I feel like I say this every month, but what the hell!? How is it already the end of May. The last two weeks went so so fast I feel like I have not really accomplished anything. June is going to be a pretty massive month for me with my work-I have three major experiments to start and finish, my PhD research proposal is due to be submitted and I really have to get a move on with my review paper.

But, more importantly, it is starting to get to the pointy end of the year in terms of books and reading. By the end of June I should be halfway through my 2017 reading challenge (50 books), so…ugh… in the next month I need to read 19 books.

Ok, but enough of worrying about the future, lets look to the past. Specifically, the books I read in the month of May 2017. I am pretty stoked I ended up reading this many books this month, and most of them were pretty massive reads.

Arrow_divider

23766634

 

A Court of Wings and Ruin- My heart! Probably the most hyped book of the year, I was so excited to finally be able to finish the story of Feyre and Rhysand. This book was absolutely amazing and will go down as one of my favourite fantasy series of all time.

 

 

23513349

 

Milk and Honey-The last time I had read poetry would have been during English Literature in High School (so about  years ago). I had heard nothing but praise for Milk and Honey and I could not put it down when i was reading it. It honestly is so powerful and I think I will be picking up this book again in many years to come.

 

22610732

 

Siege and Storm- I really enjoyed the first book in the ‘The Grisha’ series. I managed to get through this book pretty quickly, but it was a little but of a let down when compared to ‘Shadow and Bone.’ You can check out my short review here.

 

 

33954256

 

Silver Stars- I love love love this series by Michael Grant. The characters are written to perfection and the story is so interesting and unique. If you are interested in a book series following a group of girls who fight in WWII, please read the ‘Front Lines’ series. I reviewed ‘Silver Stars’ here. 

 

23403402

 

A Darker Shade of Magic-This series has been so highly recommended in the book community and the covers are stunning. However, I must admit I was let down by the characters. I’ll be posting a review later in the week, so keep your eyes peeled.

 

 

22237161

 

The Sellout-This book is such a departure from my usual genre, but I am so glad I read it. A satirical book on race and culture in America, it has an interesting writing style. The narrator makes the book as great as it is and I enjoyed reading a book a little more ‘sophisticated’ then the books I normally read.

 

6048235

Lolita- Every month I am trying to go back and read some of the classic books I have not read before. This month I picked up ‘Lolita’, a strange and unsettling book about the disturbing relationship between a man and his adopted step daughter. This book was pretty hard to read (as most of the old classics are) and the subject matter probably does not appeal to all people. I reviewed it here earlier in the month.

Arrow_divider

I have so many more books I need to read in the month of June! I will be posting my June TBR later in the week and probably go through my latest book haul as I bought way too many books.

Until next time (aka, tomorrow),

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

