Hi Everyone,

I am so excited to start this new weekly feature on my blog, Friday Finds!

Friday Finds showcases the books I have added to my Goodreads TBR list in the last week…and I have a huge addiction to finding new books to add to my list. I have a feeling that some weeks this list may be a little bit long. If you want to see what other books I have on my TBR, check out my Goodreads profile here.

So, here are the books I have added to my TBR list this week.

Arrow_divider

25955353

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved, its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?


Such a long description, but I could not cut any of it out as it all sounds so intriguing! This book appeared on my Goodreads home page as it was reviewed by Victoria Schwab. Once I had read the description, I knew it was a book I just had to read-with a scientist main character and a mysterious extraterrestrial/ancient relic it sounds like an awesome science fiction book.

Arrow_divider

32441704

Chemistry by Weike Wang

Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her one-time love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She’s tormented by her failed research–and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life. But there’s another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles, and with whom she can’t make a life before finding success on her own.

Eventually, the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future, and herself, behind. And for the first time, she’s confronted with a question she won’t find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry–one in which the reactions can’t be quantified, measured, and analyzed; one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.


This book attracted me because of the similarities I have with the main character and narrator-I am also a research student, and not even a year into my PhD I have had so many failed results and I am feeling pretty overwhelmed with how much I have to do and feel the need impress my peers and supervisors. Unfortunately, the similarities do not extend to a boyfriend (or any romance at all!). This is also a different type of book for me as I am continuing to step out of the habit of reading only fantasy or YA fantasy and read more contemporary fiction. I definitely will get a copy of this in the next few weeks.

Arrow_divider29939084

The Answers by Catherine Lacey

In Catherine Lacey’s ambitious second novel we are introduced to Mary, a young woman living in New York City and struggling to cope with a body that has betrayed her. All but paralyzed with pain, Mary seeks relief from a New Agey treatment called Pneuma Adaptive Kinesthesia, PAKing for short. And, remarkably, it works. But PAKing is prohibitively expensive and Mary is dead broke. So she scours Craigslist for fast-cash jobs and finds herself applying for the “Girlfriend Experiment,” the brainchild of an eccentric actor, Kurt Sky, who is determined to find the perfect relationship—even if that means paying different women to fulfill distinctive roles. Mary is hired as the “Emotional Girlfriend”—certainly better than the “Anger Girlfriend” or the “Maternal Girlfriend”—and is pulled into Kurt’s ego-driven and messy attempt at human connection.

Told in her signature spiraling prose, The Answers is full of the singular yet universal insights readers have come to expect from Lacey. It is a gorgeous hybrid of the plot- and the idea-driven novel that will leave you reeling


Another contemporary fiction book that I am looking to read. I am on the fence with whether I will commit to reading this book, as it sounds like it could go in a strange direction with the whole ‘Girlfriend Experience’ plot, but if written well I think it could be a unique and touching read.

Arrow_divider

28421168Renegades by Marissa Meyer

Secret Identities.
Extraordinary Powers.
She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone…except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.


I adore ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ and I am really excited to read this new series by Marissa Meyer. I get a futuristic science fiction vibe from the description and it is so ambiguous I don’t know what exactly to expect. November cannot come fast enough!Arrow_divider

I hope you enjoyed my first edition of Friday Finds! Let me know if any of these books interested you or if there are some other books I should add to my TBR.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 8.23.07 pm.png

Leave a Reply

