Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful Broke and Bookish.

Hi Everyone! Sorry for my absence over the last week. My first experiment for my PhD was a little bit stressful so all week and weekend was hectic. I’m back to my blog (and Bookstagram) and have a lot of reviews to catch up on as I still kept reading during my blogging hiatus.

So what better way to get back into it then to do a Top Ten Tuesday.

This week is pretty straightforward-Ten Books I loved more than thought I would. Lets she started shall we.

  1. Scarlet and Cress– While I really enjoyed Cinder, it was months before I picked up the second book in the series. That was last week, and I finished Scarlet on the bus to work. On the way home that day I stopped at at the bookshop as I just had to pick up Cress which I could not put down! Next week i’ll definitley be buying Winter as I need to know how the series ends.
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale-This book was recommended to me as the classical ‘dystopian’ (I know there is a work for this genre) books like ‘1984’ and ‘Brave New World’ are popular at the moment due to current world events (ahem Trump) and I had never read them before. This book is so unique and impactful in exploring womens rights.
  3. Rebel of the Sands-This was so highly praised on social media and I really picked it up on a whim while I was at the shops. It started slowly, but I found myself drawn into the story and I really enjoyed the world it is set in. I do have the second book on my bookshelf waiting to be picked up.
  4. Six of Crows-I love a good heist book/movie and I was not expecting ‘Six of Crows’ to be such a well written and exciting heist story. While I was coming into reading the book expecting to enjoy it as it is right up my alley, I did not expect for it to tick all of the boxes and be one of my favourite books I read in 2016.
  5. Illuminae and Gemina-I never really go for book with such a weird and unique format, but I am so glad I did with these two books. I did struggle in the first few pages to adjust to the way the story is told, but it has really encouraged me to search out different books that have a similar format.
  6. Three Dark Crowns-I saw this at the book shop late last year and was drawn by the title and the cover. I did not expect such a thrilling and dynamic story. This gets a mention because of the major plot twist at the end…I need the next book.
  7. Carry On-I did read ‘Fangirl’, and while it was OK, it was not the groundbreaking read that many people were making it out to be. However, once i realised Carry On was the fanfiction that heavily featured in the book, I decided to pick it up and I actually enjoyed it-way more then I was expecting too. Then again, I am a sucker for fanfiction, especially when Baz and Simon are so similar to two characters I read fanfiction about….
  8. Coma – This was my first medical-thriller book I read and it really fed my love of this genre. Coma is such a well written story with a great female main character and an unsettling medical story. If only the movie was as good…
  9. Feed-Zombie books have been done so many times, it is hard for me to find something that really reinvents this well used trope. ‘Feed’ had politics, blogging and zombies. What I really loved most was the medical/science aspect to the Zombie virus and the conspiracy that took three books to be revealed.
  10. The Selection-I came into this book knowing full well what I was going to get-a book version of the Bachelor with a lot of romance, date scenes, love triangles, the full experience. Saying this, I actually enjoyed it, and this is coming from someone who reads very few romance books. ‘The Elite’ and ‘The One’ were also a joy to read, though I have not read any romance since.

Hope you enjoyed this weeks list. I have a whole lot of reviews coming up in the next week while I catch up from my impromptu hiatus 🙂 As always, give me your recommendations for new and exciting books for me to read.

Leave a Reply

