Top Ten Tuesday is an amazing weekly feature by Broke and Bookish

This weeks TTT is a FREEBIE. While I do like being inspired by their prompts, freebie week is a chance to make something up myself. While I have been trying to curb how many books I buy and don’t read, I still end up buying quite a few. So this week I decided to share with you ten books I have bought this year.

  1. Scythe- I saw this book sometime last year (and it was on one of my TTT) and I simply cannot find it in any of my local bookshops. As I wanted to read it so much, I ordered it online this morning.
  2. Brilliance- I have been getting back into reading science fiction (Red Rising got me back into the genre) and like Scythe, I have been looking in shops for this book everywhere! So, I ordered it this morning too.
  3. Scarlet– I really enjoyed Cinder and Heartless by Marissa Meyer and I am intrigued to see what twists she puts on other fairy-tales. I am going to slowly make my way through The Lunar Chronicles.
  4. Fool Moon- After being recommended to read the Harry Dresden Files by one of my fellow students last year, I read the first of the series and became hooked. I ordered Fool Moon as soon as I finished Storm Front, and can’t wait for it to arrive at my door.
  5. Nevernight- Illuminae and Gemina were two of my favourite books last year, and another of Jay Kristoff’s books was recommended to me. In was in Dymocks late on a Friday night and could not leave without picking this book up.
  6. Rebel of the Sands- The second book that I bought on my late night Dymocks trip. I actually got this book for free using my Dymocks Booklover points. I started reading it last night and on the train today and I am well over halfway through.
  7. Morning Star- Red Rising and Golden Son are such amazing books, and I am sad but excited to finish the series. At least Pierce Brown is writing another series set in the same world in the future, so I don’t have to say goodbye to that universe.
  8. Passenger- After seeing the release of Wayfayer I decided to pick up Passenger on a whim early this year. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I will wait until Wayfayer is in stores to buy it.
  9. Blood For Blood- One of the book on my January TBR list and the conclusion to Wolf By Wolf. I enjoyed this book so much and I felt it was better then the first! The only problem is that I did not realise it was not the same size of Wolf By Wolf and they look odd next to each other on my bookshelf.
  10. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince- While I already own two copies of this book, one of them is a Hardcover I bought when it was released all of these years ago. The book is falling apart, one of the covers is missing and it is beyond repair (though I am keeping it as it is sentimental to me). I saw the same book in paperback at my local second hand book shop, and decided to buy it to replace the tattered version on my shelf.

Here is my TTT for this week! Hope you enjoy looking at what I have bought so far this year, and as always, feel free to give me any recommendations.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday-Ten Most Recent Books I Have Purchased

  1. I think I need to get Nevernight! I have seen that book in the last 2 TTTs and it is calling out my name! I need it !
    I like your list, I don’t know why but I love to see what books people buy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My HP books are extremely well loved-same as Eragon and my Deltora Quest books. They all got a bit worse for wear being shoved into school bags.

      Like

    1. The ending is a bit ‘meh’, but overall it is a really great read and the time travel aspect of the book is very well done 🙂

      Like

    1. The bookshops here in Australia are pretty delayed in getting new releases in store, so I always have to look online in the end. 🙂

      Like

  2. “Morning Star” was a great conclusion to the Red Rising trilogy and I’m absolutely happy about how the story ended and can’t wait to read Pierce Brown’s next series!

    It took me a while to enjoy “Nevernight” because the first half was really hard to read with so many and such long footnotes but the second half was way better and I definitely want to continue this series.

    I read “Brilliance” two or three years ago and have been wanting to continue this series ages ago but haven’t found the time yet.

    “Scythe” is on my wishlist, too, and I really like the cover design!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have heard that Morning Star is a great conclusion from a lot of people, so hopefully it comes in the mail soon! That is what drew me to Scythe in the first place, the cover which is so beautiful!

      Like

  3. I’m so excited to finally read Scythe! It’s going to be my first book by the author, and I heard pretty awesome things about it, plus that concept is so unique. The Lunar Chronicles is one of my all time favorite series, so I truly hope you’ll love Scarlet and the rest of the novels, as well.

    Wonderful list! Hope you’ll enjoy all these books!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here, I have not yet read anything by Neal Shusterman too, so im interested to see what his writing style is like.
      I’m looking forward to reading more of the Lunar Chronicles and seeing how everything comes together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

