As 2016 comes to an end, it is time to reflect on my 2016 year in books. I love how Goodreads does this every year and it is nice to be able to see my whole year of reading summarised.

First thing is that i completed my 2016 GOODREADS READING CHALLENGE! I wanted to read one book a week and i managed to do 17 more than I was aiming for-while completing my honours year and getting a First Class.

Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 1.53.03 pm.png

Next year, I will be aiming for 100 books in the year! While I still will be busy, completing my PhD, it should be a little less stressful compared to honours, and I have a ~45 minute commute each way which is perfect for reading.

I managed to read over 29,000 pages, which is amazing. I wonder how many pages I will read next year after reading 100 books…

Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 1.52.41 pm.png

The average length of the books I read was 427 pages, which I think is a pretty standard length for most fantasy or science fiction books.

I also finally read The Book Thief, a book that was sitting on my bookshelf for years. I really enjoyed it and I can see why so many other people have read it too. I am not surprised that The Disciple was my least popular book read, I picked it up at a second hand books sale and it was a struggle to read-I was so happy when I finished it and did not have to read it anymore.

Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 1.52.53 pm.png

I am so happy with my reading this year, and I hope to continue with my book reviews (hopefully be a bit more on top of them, as I have three draft reviews that have been sitting there unfinished for a couple weeks) in the next year, as well as Bookstagram which I started midway this year.

Here are all the books I read in 2016 if you were interested 🙂 Hope you have a great NYE (I will be sitting at home watching movies with my cats) and I look forward to a great 2017 of reading.

2 thoughts on “My 2016 In Books

    1. Thanks! I am hoping I can beat next years too, but its just under double what I aimed for this year, so i’ll have to wait and see 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

