This week’s topic: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016 (you choose — best books overall of what you read regardless of pub date, of a particular genre, 2016 debuts, 2016 releases, etc)

This is the last TTT of 2016, so it is fitting that the theme is the Best Books of 2016. So without further ado, here are ten of my favourite books I have read in 2016. I decided to gather together books from a series so I could showcase a whole heap of books!

  1. Dark Matter- This was such an unsettling and well written Sci-Fi book that definitly needs more love. It was one of the last reads of the year after I searched multiple bookshops for a copy.
  2. Illuminae and Gemina- Probably the most unique books I have read this year, in both the story and the format the story is told in. I am super excited for the next book in the series.
  3. Red Rising and Golden Son- I probably read more Fantasy then Sci-Fi but this series has reminded me why Sci-Fi is such a great genre. I have the next book in the series on its way in the mail so I can read it as soon as possible.
  4. Storm Front- My first foray into the Dresden Files series and I am now hooked! I feel that I never hear about this series for some reason. Magic, mystery, a Wizard Detective is combined to make a great read.
  5. A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Thorns and Roses- What more can i say about this series. A definitleyt enjoyed A Court of Mist and Fury more then the first book in the series, but both were absoltuley amazing. My heart still hurts after the end of the second book so it is a painful wait for the next book in the series.
  6. Throne of Glass Series- After a lot of delays I finally read all of the Throne Of Glass series (excluding Empire of Storms0 this year, and I cannot believe I did not read it earlier. This series is a classic YA Fantasy series with a little bit of romance and a whole lot of action.
  7. Four Legendary Kingdoms- One of my all time favourite authors who I also met at a book signing this year. Matthew Reilly never disappoints with his books and this is a great addition to the Jack West series.
  8. Three Dark Crowns- A dark horse book that i picked up on a whim from the book shop, and I think it surprised a lot of people. It has such a unique concept and ends on a dramatic cliffhanger, so I know I am one of many who is waiting for the next book.
  9. The Newsflesh Trilogy- A zombie series but with a twist. The characters in the Newsflesh trilogy were what made the story. It featured a brother and sister blogging duo who uncovered a world wide conspiracy while battling the zombie plague that had taken over society. Again, I never hear much about this series but it is definitley worth reading.
  10. The Book Thief- Even though this came out years ago I never got around to reading it. It sat on my TBR shelf until I finally picked it up to read on the bus to University. While it did take me a while to get into, I found it a touching and bittersweet read that raises issues that are all too relevant today.

 

I hope you enjoyed my last TTT for 2016. As always, share with me your recommendations and have a fantastic New Year 🙂

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday- My Ten Favourite Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

