This was one of the books i grabbed from the shops for my Birthday after having it recommended to me by a friend. Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow is a confronting book about mental health that everyone can relate to at some level.

blackbird

29770506

 

Title: Girl In Pieces
Author: Kathleen Glasgow
Date published: September 2016
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 406
My Rating57818-four-stars

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself.


Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.


Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.


A deeply moving portrait of a teenage girl on the verge of losing herself and the journey she must take to survive in her own skin, Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

 
blackbird-1

Girl in Pieces is a confronting book that tackles important issues such as mental health and addiction. Glasgow’s writing style adds weight to everything written in this book and constructs a heartbreaking yet encouraging story about a young girl Charlotte and her road to recovery following self harm, depression and the loss of her best friend.

Charlotte, or Charlie as she is more commonly referred to, has struggled with mental health and self harm after losing her best friend to suicide, her rocky relationship with her mother and lived on the streets. After a recent suicide attempt we start following Charlie as she recovers in a mental health facility. We see a whole range of young and older girls struggling and recovering-all with different issues, different triggers, and different ways they cope. As soon as she starts to recover her family cannot pay for her stay anymore and her mother does not want to take her in. So she moves to a small ‘desert’ town with an old friend and tries to regain some normality in her life. The hardest part of the book was watching her downward spiral back into her older habits and mental state. She feels so hopeless, so negative about herself and her life. Her thoughts so dark and she thinks thinks that are not true or so exaggerated but that is the reality of depression . At times i wished i could reach into the book and tell her that all of that is not true. We see the importance of having strong and healthy relationships, and we see the development of both negative and positive relationships in Charlie’s life and see her navigate which ones are which.

As well as mental health this story is about romance. But not in the traditional sense of romance. We see two people who are struggling in their own ways try to work through things together. And while it may not work out like the fairytale romances in many other stories, it is such an essential part of Charlie’s growth.

Girl in Pieces is a book that tackles important issues regarding mental health in a positive and hopeful way. We see Charlie struggle to recover and accept who she is and everyone can relate to some portion of the book, some aspect of the story that Glasgow tells. A very different book from what i normally read, but after having friends who have struggled with mental health this was a very rewarding read as i learnt more about what people who experience this actually feel and go through.

It was so hard to review this book as it is a story about mental health and growing up in our modern society. As someone who has had some dark times, as well as friends still struggling, this book helped me understand mental health more as well as what i can do as a friend to help and be supportive.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s