I fell in love with the cover of this book the moment i saw it and it has been sitting on my TBR list for a while now. After it was so highly recommended by one of my university friends i finally bought it. I am in love with the world Sarah J. Maas has created in ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses‘ and i cannot wait to pick up the newly released 2nd book in this series.

16096824

DECK copy

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

DECK (1)

The world of fearies and the supernatural is hard to write about in a new and interesting way-it has been explored and delved into time and time again by many authors.

Sarah J Maas created a world that it is hard not to fall straight into, and i found myself unable to put down my book as i was transported into the world that humans and faeries coexist in. Set in the time about the war between the Fae and the Humans, in a time of tentative peace due to a treaty between the two races. Feyre works hard to support her family, her fathrr and two sisters, but is taken into the custody of a Faerie after she unknowlsing kills one of his kind who was in the form of a wolf. She soon finds out that her captor is not who he seems and that there is a threat to both the human and Fearie world, and put aside her deep hatred of the Faerie race who killed and enslaved humans in the past, to work with her companions to stop the darkness approaching.

Feyre is an awesome character and well rounded and written. She is strong and perceptive, and while she is not the most educated and is in a whole new environment,she makes an impact on her handsome captor Tamlin and the others in the Spring Court he rules. She has a strong sense of duty, loyalty and protects those who she is close too, even if it comes at a risk to her own life. The world Maas has created is enchanting and a new imagining of Faeries that i have read read before. The intricate politics between all of the different courts is so interesting and i hope there is more revealed in the next books on the relationships between each region. The small glimpses into Fae culture has also left be wanting more.

The relationship between Feyre and Tamlin is a personal highlight of this book-their relationship goes through so many changes, developments in a natural way that is realistic. Their interactions are darling and throughout the book we see their relationship blossom, as do her friendships with many of the other Fae in the Spring Court.

While the fate of Feyre at the end of the book was not unexpected, the way the book built up to that ending was…awesome, i could not stop reading this book until i reached the end. As soon as i can i am picking up the newly released second book in this series.

DECK (2)

tumblr_static_485mjxeyhnuokw4408g8ssc4wtumblr_static_485mjxeyhnuokw4408g8ssc4wtumblr_static_485mjxeyhnuokw4408g8ssc4wtumblr_static_485mjxeyhnuokw4408g8ssc4wtumblr_static_485mjxeyhnuokw4408g8ssc4w

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s