Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the one and only Broke and Bookish.

This week i had a bit of trouble deciding on the topic for my TTT this week. Once i had decided on a topic it was even more difficult to think of things to fill up the list.

The prompt for this week was “Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books” or anything to do with the past or the future.

Many of the books i read are set in the 1980s,1990s or the 2000s -in the case of my medical thriller books i enjoy, or they are YA dystopian novels in which the ‘time of the setting’ is not a key point for me.

So this week i decided to do some of the historical settings i would like to read a book or two about.  While i normally aim for 10, i decided 5 is a manageable goal and not push me to try to think up something just to fill up the list.

1 Medical Thrillers set in the 1980s and 1990s

I love my medical thriller books- something you all are probably aware of by now. I love when they are set in the 80s and 90s where we still know next to nothing about medicine and pathology and the book focuses on the discovery of something or a theory about a ‘fact’ of medicine that is common place knowledge in todays world. It also reminds me just how far we have come. One of the books was about using antibodies to treat cancer- which is actually what my honours research project will be investigating.

2. Books set in the future where technology has gone rogue

Think of the terminator, or robo-cop. I am fascinated by books set in the future where humanity has doomed itself- where a virus takes out the internet or technology, where a dictator has taken over one of the major countries and war is imminent. I would love to read more of these types of books.

3. Where a virus or medical disaster has occurred in the future

For some reason i love when everything has gone to hell on Earth in the future. With my love of medical thrillers comes my love of books with a virus that wipes out the population, or humans may have discovered immortality that comes at a cost.  ‘Repo The Genetic Opera’ is one of my favourite movies and i would love to read books that are similar to the film- where people sell body parts or black market trading for organs because of a virus.

4. Political Books set in the past during major world events

I love television shows about politics- House of Cards, Madam Secretary to name just two. I would like to get into reading books set during WWI, WWII and the Cold War that have a political focus.

5. Medieval Books with ‘Secret Societies’

For one of my history units i did as an elective i wrote a research essay on the Templars and their role in Medieval Europe. This topic fascinated me and i loved reading and researching about the Templars- while playing Assassins Creed for some extra information. I also loved Dan Browns books that involve the Illuminati and the Stone Masons. I would love to read some books set in the past that involve these ‘secret societies’. Chuck in some Church Politics (like the Borgia’s) and it should make for an interesting read.

Here is my TTT for this week. I really had to stretch to think of something to fill my list with- but looking back i will definitely do some research to see whether there are some books that may fit any of these settings and add them to my reading list.

Let me know what ya’ll think and share with me your TTTs for this week 🙂

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Historical Settings I’d Like To Read About

    1. Thanks for the recommendation- i’ll check it out. 🙂 I have read lots of Zombie Virus books (and watched a lot of movies too) but i really enjoy the more medical virus themed stories, like Contagion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

