Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the one and only Broke and Bookish

This weeks TTT was a freebie- so i decided to list some of my favourite characters from the books I have read over the years. This is by no means an exhaustive list, i could list many more, but there are just a few that have had a great impact on me to date.

1 Robert Langdon

hanks-langdon

For years i wanted to become a symbologist, or at least complete a unit or two at university on the subject. Robert Langdon has also been one of my book crushes for years. I love the books and i love the character.

2. Draco Malfoy

draco_mal

He is by far my favourite character form the HP series. I love his snarkiness, his character development and i do have a tendency to like the ‘misunderstood’ and ‘dark’ characters. I must admit i have written a lot of fan fiction involving Draco and enjoy reading nearly every different ‘version’ of his character. While they are different they stay true to the essence of who he is.

3. Susan Wheeler

4582808451_61f3249fbe_z

The protagonist of one of my favourite books ‘Coma’ she actually is one of my idols. An independent and very intelligent doctor, Susan struggles to make an impact in the male dominated medical industry. She uncovers a plot by the hospital administrators to sell organs on the black market and stops at nothing to reveal the truth. She has some amazing lines throughout the book and i wish they did a better job at portraying her in the film.

4. Will Graham

tv-s-top-10-flawed-geniuses_415729

I cannot write a list about my favourite characters without mentioning Will Graham, a character from the mind of Thomas Harris one of my all time favourite authors. Will is just a complex and interesting character, and i do enjoy Hugh Dancy’s portraying on the television show. Edward Norton also does a great job in the original 2002 movie.

5.  Jamie Lannister

tumblr_static_tumblr_n3mc8o0stf1s95j2so1_500__

Jamie is probably my favourite character in the ASOIAF series- however a good many would disagree with me on this. While his actions are questionable in the early books, and his relationship with Cersei disturbing and a great example of a dangerous form of codependence (which to me slowly becomes one sided) his character development and growth throughout the books. Especially his friendship with Brienne.

6. Captain America

captain-america-steve-rogers

If this list was in order, Captain America/Steve Rogers would be at the top of my list. My room is an example of my love of him. While i have not been able to read a lot of the comics, as there are simply so many of them, i just love him.

7. Murtagh

murtagh-murtagh-19997808-300-475

Oh if only the last book was better…and the movie. While i did like Eragon, Murtagh always had a special place in my heart. I really dont know why, but there was something about him that i just instantly liked and gravitated towards.

8. Tyrion Lannister

ap120913021909

Tryion comes in second to Jamie in the battle of my favourite GOT characters. Tyrion is my choice for the throne-for obvious reasons. He is the most sensible, reasonable and just generally ‘smartest’ character in the books.

9. Mare Barrow

22328546

One of the most recent book series i have fallen in love with, Mare Barrow is the main character of this series. She takes it in her stride when her life is turned upside down. She sticks to her ideals and i cannot wait to see what is next for her.

10. Mark Watney

themartian2

In a story that focuses on a man stuck on Mars, left for dead, with pretty much everything going wrong i still found myself laughing  many times throughout the story. Throughout the story he manages to keep such a positive attitude and a devilish sense of humour. Add in intelligent and being able to grow potatoes on Mars- how could anyone not like him.

Hope you all liked my TTT this week. I am slowly working through some books in the new year and expect some reviews coming soon 🙂

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Characters

  1. YAY! Great choice of topic this week. I always love freebie week as people always do such amazing topics! Mark Watney is one of my favourite characters of all time, he is absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He is just so funny and I know he will be on my favourite celeb list forever.

    Here’s my TTT post if you want to check it out. I picked non-book romances I would love to see get book adaptations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

