Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the one and only Broke and Bookish.

This weeks TTT are my Top Ten Reading Resolutions i have for 2016. I have actually already posted both a 2016 Reading Challenge post and a 2016 Resolutions post but this list will be a bit more ‘book’ specific.

Enough explaining- lets get to my TTT for January 5 2016. I cannot believe it is 2016!

My Top Ten Reading Resolutions for 2016

1 .Reread the Inheritance Trilogy and actually finish the final book.

eragon

I loved this series as a child- i even tried to learn the ancient language and fantasised about being transported into another world and becoming a dragon rider.  I would reread all of the books so many times and i loved everything about the story. However when it came to the last book and the ending to one of my favourite series i was severely let down and just put down the book in a sort of ‘rage quit’. This year i will try to rediscover my love for this series and finally finish the final book.

2.  Read a classic book or two

gatsby

While i have read some of the old ‘classics’ it was during English Literature class at High School and it was hard to enjoy the experience when every sentence, theme, symbol, character…pretty much everything was analysed and deconstructed (i also disliked the teacher). This year i will read some of the classics that i have never read before. Which classics is yet to be determined.

3. Clear out my Bookshelf of Shame

pile-of-books

My bookshelf of shame is the shelf/pile of books at the bottom of my bookshelf that i have not read yet. This shelf keeps growing and growing and i continue reading new books and ignoring those ones. This year i will finally make a dent into my shelf of shame and give these books the love they deserve.

4. Complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge Goal

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 12.44.56 PM

Another one of my 2016 reading challenges is to read 52 books this year for the Goodreads Reading Challenge. One book a week should be achievable…however once university and football season starts this may not be the case. Reading is great fun and a form of relaxation and escape for me so hopefully i can find the time to complete my goal.

5. Finish all the series i have started but not yet finished

25689074

But i won’t force myself to complete the series if i did not like the first book. This year i have read so many first books of series but got excited by another series or just felt like i needed a break before reading the second book and never got around to it. The Darkest MindsThe Lunar Chronicles and the rest of the Divergent series are just a few that are still yet to be completed.

6. Complete my GRR Martin, Thomas Harris and Matthew Reilly Book Collections

temple

While i read a lot, i only commit to buying the physical books of authors i really love and authors i am huge fans of. The three above authors have their own shelves in my bookshelf dedicated to them, and while i do own many of their books there are still one or two that are missing from their respective collections (one in particular that is still being written…i am looking at your GRR Martin)

7. Read more Comics

1644216-captain_america_pocket_v1__2010____page_1

I love reading comics but sometimes there are just too many universes with all different plots, characters, relationships and histories that i get quite overwhelmed. I am a huge Captain America fan so this year i will try to read some Captain America comics and find a timeline that i will stick too.

8. Actually read my University textbooks this year

51z8g6lyeil

While i am not certain that for either my Masters or Honours i will need a text book, it sure would be helpful if i actually read some supplementary text and just get a bit more information to help me understand the concepts. I really want to do great this year so this will definitely help me

9. Get my Brother more into reading

9780241951712

I love reading and i know my brother sort of does too. We have totally different interests and everything, but hopefully i can find some books that he enjoys and get him reading a little bit more.

10. Keep writing Book reviews on this blog

I have loved every second of writing reviews on this blog and it has really enhanced my reading experience 🙂 It is so great to be able to share my thoughts about books to other people who love reading as much as me!

There is my very long TTT for this week! As always let me know what you think and share with me your lists for this week!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Reading Resolutions I Have For 2016

  1. I set myself a goal to read at least 5 classics last year and I beet it, so I am going to give myself a break with it this year. However I hope I just more naturally pick them up this year round. I didn’t really think about completing that challenge so I hope this is the case 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. it was probably one of my favourite books we read in year 12 English Literature! Hopefully some of the other classics are just as good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

